Discovering When Not In Search.

I was on my way to an usual Thursday Satsang evening at our Metropolitan Art of Living Centre, where people from all over the city would come to attend the divine musical evening. There was a very unusual thing that I noticed upon reaching the centre. The lights were off and the sound of musical instruments seemed way to blur but the taking place of the Satsang was evident from the shrill lyrics of the bhajans that I could here. Upon entering it dawned on me that there were no musicians and it was just our singer, Suryom who had come to perform. This made me recall the thoughts I had an hour ago on my way here. I had reflected upon the thought of not to going to the Satsang while I was waiting for at the bus stand in Salt Lake, the reason was that it was already 7 pm and the Satsang would strictly start at 6:30 pm irrespective of the number of attendees. This thought was only expanded when I saw that there were no musical instruments (guitar, tabla), totally contrary to my expectations. But as sages say when you are on a spiritual path just have faith and what you get will be only oneness with the divine and that is what I experienced in the true sense.  I had entered somewhat disheartened but when I left, I left with an enlightened Self. It felt like I had evolved, an evolution that brought gratefulness and awareness along with compassion to the whole existence. What I wanted to take was certainly not there but what I got was certainly beyond something which I could have ever asked for.

Disciplined as always in my spiritual practices I entered the room and sat down.  A few greetings to my friends on the left and the right and then I sat down in the Yogic posture and made efforts to sink into the ambiance. Satsang is the sitting together in a group and being with truth in presence of a guru and the spiritual students. The singer sings a few lines and we repeat. The energy that resonates is quintessential. There were no musical instruments but there was the divine ambiance. The dim lights brought awareness and calmness while the company of the singing mates brought completeness and contentment. Throughout the Satsang I kept my eyes closed and tried to give my hundred per cent. Trying to sing each word with devotion and perseverance. When in between sometimes I would open my eyes to see the people around it would bring elevation in being by seeing them in such exuberance. Meditation, singing, learning and discovering the inner depths all were being experienced in a heightened level of consciousness. It made me disconnected from the outside world and for a moment it felt like there was no one around and I was One with the Voice. Cut to the end our teacher, Divyabandhu, who had taught this art of meditation to us, asked us to share today’s experience of the Satsang. All of us felt elevated and rejuvenated and when he asked why was it that today was so different that we felt this all of us presented our views but that could not summarise what he had been looking for. He explained that it was only because of our perseverance that we felt what we did today. It dint matter what the situation or expectations was, what mattered was our devotion to the present moment. Our perseverance turned it into a celebration what would have been sorrow otherwise.

The thing that facilitated the feeling of elevation was not the Satsang but what we did after that. Divyabandhu asked us to do something unique and somewhat absurd. He asked us to sit in a circle and introduce ourselves. Now this seemed unique because we had never done this before and absurd because most of us knew each other. But the conclusion from this session was heightening. All of us defined what we were doing and how we were planning to shape our future. This brought to the realization of each one of us that how well excelling were we all. One was the only Craniosacral Therapist (CST) in the state, other was a doctor whose patients felt that they were not patients but an extended family. Another was a marine engineer who was on his six month vacation but was doing everything but vacationing – running a school for children of the watchmen, teaching meditation and yoga to the people of the slums. Another was being adored by all. Gyaanachaya had been facilitating sessions across the schools of the city to fill the vacuum that children felt for having conversations that they could not have with their teacher or their parents. It was during this that Divyabandhu brought a great point to the audience in appreciation of her hard work – “It is not the organization that defines you but you that defines the organization.” This made me realize the ultimate truth – how I behave and interact does not only define me but also the organization that I come from. There was another one,Udayajharna, the one who had brought most of us into this path,including me. Whatever we might do, however high we may excel, there would never be a moment when we wouldn’t feel indebted to this man – for identifying and harboring the skills that we have today. It was a teenage child, a class 9 student who stole the show. Her simplicity and innocence made us marvel at how we were. She simply without any effort or with an intention to leave an impression presented to us what she loved – ‘Studying and Singing.’ She was the one who spoke the least but made the most impact. It was this that made us marvel at how manipulative we had become as we had grown. What to say or with how much elegance and confidence was not her concern. All that mattered to her was rejoicing in her very own being. Something we all used to do as a child- carefree but had somehow suppressed due to our dominating egoistic nature. It was so good to see such stalwarts all around us,each fairing in the brightest way possible. ‘Pearls of Wisdom’ – as our GURUDEV, Sri Sri Ravi Shankar Ji calls us all. All of us were excelling in our fields and more than the excellence it was the happiness that had become our very own nature and more than the happiness it was the commitment and perseverance to spread this to all that was the realization that we were taking.

Leave a Reply

